March 22 – Noon Check-in

Posted: March 22, 2010 in ADD, mood chart, work

Current Mood: irritable, stressed,tired -Work stresses me out. This is the first break I’ve had all day. Luckily I’m leaving early. I have to go shopping with a student around 3, and since I was going to leave at 4 anyway for my psychiatrist appointment, it doesn’t make sense to come back in. There are so many things that have to get done, all at the same time, so it’s go, go, go! Which is fine, cuz it’s better than being bored. But I tend to amp myself up when I have a lot to do, which isn’t really a good thing. I don’t get amped up with energy, just adrenaline, which leads to anxiety. Blah. And now that I’ve had a chance to breath I’m just irritated. I’m so sick of my supervisor’s nitpicking. And now she just walked into my office and let me know that one of our presenters dropped out of our Thursday training, so I will now be leading 2 sessions. I don’t even want to be there in the first place. I keep forgetting I don’t have a Thursday evening this week. Which sucks because my husband only has Thursday and Friday off (he works til 9 every other day). FML.

I have my psychiatrist appointment with Dr. A-Hole today, which is probably adding to my irritable mood. I get to sit through 15 minutes of his BS just so I can make sure I have refills for my meds. I understand wanting to connect with your patient, but I don’t understand how telling me about things in his life that I couldn’t care less about is connecting. Besides, I pay a $15 copay for a 15 minutes session with a doctor that doesn’t listen to me. I’m not there to connect, I’m there to get my damn meds! Maybe if I just go in and not react to any of his stories, I can just get in and out. I am really not in the mood to deal with his quirks.

And then of course I have to other doctor appointments this week. I see ADD Guy Wednesday morning to find out if I’m ADHD positive and to challenge him on the validity of his so-called “test”. I also get to see my brand spanking new therapist Wednesday afternoon. That’s exciting. I hope I like her. I really like intake appointments because the one doing the intake has no choice but to listen to you. It’s always the second appointment that really reveals how that person really is (Case in point: ADD Guy).

I know one thing for sure: I don’t know if I can do this job anymore.

Leave a Reply

