God I Hate Having Ovaries

Posted: September 11, 2009 in pain, pms

Yes, dear readers, it is that time of the month. If you are one of those that is squeamish about TMI or would like your blog authors to be vague and mysterious, this is not the post for you.

I am seriously cramping. Which makes me very grumpy. And being on my period makes me grumpy. So now I’m twice as grumpy. And it’s Friday. Why would my period decide to come on a freakin Friday? What a bitch.

Well, I am taking this new birth control called Yaz. I decided to switch to Yaz because I’m pretty sure I could be a candidate for having PMDD. How does someone with bipolar figure out if she has PMDD. Quite simple. My moods go completely haywire before my period no matter how stable I am. Could it be just plain old PMS? Sure, but it can’t hurt to have some extra hormone balancing going on. Ok, it can hurt but I was taking birth control anyways.

Okay, Yaz is a bit different from other pills. For one, it only has four “off” pills instead of the typical seven. This, I’m sure, is how they guarantee shorter, lighter periods. Whether this is true remains to be seen, but a gal can help. It’s also supposed to ease cramps. Here’s what they don’t tell you. You will still get the cramps. And it is highly recommended you take no pain medication except Tylenol (maybe Aspirin, but this has not been confirmed). So, if you are one of those unfortunate few on whom Tylenol has no effect, your SOL. I am one of those few. Not for lack of trying. I have bought a bottle of Tylenol. Maybe after flushing my system free of ibuprofen I can actually effectively use Tylenol. Well, I took the Tylenol and am still cramping. And I have two more meetings today. And I have to go to the store to go shopping with a student.

Dear Lord shoot me now.

Well, it sounds as if the student in my office is finishing his survey, so I will end my tales here. If someone has any special cramp-healing powers, do let me know.

Comments
  1. susan says:

    Weird. I have mine also got it last night. i think a good hot bath helps, Tylenol never worked for cramps, I do swear by Advil and Excedrin.

  2. Bansagart says:

    Caffeine helps – it’s the main ingredient in midol, right after tyleno. I find a trip to Starbucks is better than the midol. If you’re taking caffeine, why not make it delicious?

Leave a Reply

